WPC: Spare

Some weeks ago I found a dead roe deer. A young buck. I don’t know what happend to him and  could not see any external wounds. Maybe he was sick, maybe someone shot him or maybe he had eaten some of the trash people leave behind in nature. And it is a lot of trash where I walk. Yesterday I met this beautiful and very much alive little guy for a brief moment. Made me happy 🙂

I’m taking the opportunity to encourage all of us to take better care of our beautiful earth and to spare all it’s creatures from the pain and suffering that our trash can cause.

“Mankind can only disappoint mother nature for so long”

-Anthony D. Williams

Weekly Photo Challenge – Spare

25 comments on “WPC: Spare

  1. Beautiful creature caught in a wonderful moment. How peaceful to be out in the woods. I agree that people leave behind trash all over the place. I think they rationalize (if they even think about it) that “someone else will clean it up”. These are some of the same people who complain about too much government in their lives. So much for my early Sunday morning sermon! Have a great day and thanks for the reminder.

    • You are very welcome Lori 🙂 Yes I sadly think the mentality of some people is that “someone else will clean it up”. Would have been a better place if everyone did their part. Have a beautiful day 🙂

  2. Glad you were able to capture a shot of this deer. Totally agree about the insane amount of trash that others leave around. Though my hope was buoyed this past weekend when I went camping, and there was not a speck of trash to be seen. I think campers understand the importance of leaving it how they found it…well, certainly, the 100 or so at the camp ground displayed an understanding.
    Best wishes from Australia.

    • Thank you Kim:) I agree, it seems like the people who use nature most are the ones who cleans up after themselves and sometimes after others too. Some of the trash in my woods are brought there, probably someone are using it a trash-dump because I found items that you don’t bring while camping.

  3. I appreciate that you shared the beautiful vibrant deer with us here, Ann, yet shared the message that the first deer brought. Beautiful photo of the young buck.

  4. Beautiful animal – and a sad story. I think the amount of trash has increased rapidly the last 15 years or so. I remember we had campaigns like “HÃ¥ll Sverige Rent” when I was a child, and I believe we could use some campaining now as well. Schools taught us and our parents taught us – and we who are brought up with this would not dream of leaving things behind.
    My kids went to Japan a couple of years ago, and found nowhere to through their waste – they had to bring plastic bags to take it back. And they had never seen a cleaner country than Japan…

    • Thank you 🙂 I have always been taught to put the trash where it belongs and that is not in nature. Even the smallest piece of paper I put in my pocket if there’s no trash bin around. Maybe we have something to learn from the Japanese 🙂

  5. What a interesting interpretation of the challenge; makes me want to see more of your work.

    I’ll be following you from now on. Have an amazing day! 🙂

Leave a Reply

